Book Reviews · Mini Reviews

Mini Review ~ ‘Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation vol. 1’

Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation: Mo Dao Zu Shi by Mò Xiāng Tóng Xiù

Publication Date: December 14th 2021

Publisher: Seven Seas Entertainment

Blurb: Wei Wuxian was once one of the most powerful men of his generation, a talented and clever young cultivator who harnessed martial arts and spirituality into powerful abilities. But when the horrors of war led him to seek more power through demonic cultivation, the world’s respect for his abilities turned to fear, and his death was celebrated throughout the land.

Years later, he awakens in the body of an aggrieved young man who sacrifices his soul so that Wei Wuxian can exact revenge on his behalf. Though granted a second life, Wei Wuxian is not free from his first, nor the mysteries that appear before him now. Yet this time, he’ll face it all with the righteous and esteemed Lan Wangji at his side, another powerful cultivator whose unwavering dedication and shared memories of their past will help shine a light on the dark truths that surround them.

Review

I devoured MDZS in 2019 when Silvia’s @ Silviareadsbooks twitter feed finally tempted me one too many times. Having binged my way through 50 episodes of The Untamed in record time, I turned to the novel that birthed so many fantastic adaptions. I absolutely loved it, only available online through the hard work of dedicated fan translators – I read my way through half a million odd words. Probably destroying my eyesight in the process. The longing I had for an official translation, to be able to hold a physical version in my hands in I language I could read seemed like it would only ever be a dream.

So when it was announced on my birthday last year we were getting an official english translation from Seven Seas, I honestly did think it was a dream. Even after I pre-ordered all of the 1st volumes of MXTX’s books it would hit me out of the blue that it was actually real.

This is really a review per se because I cannot encapsulate all my feelings about Wei Wuxian, Lan Wangji and the universe that stole my heart (and many hours on netflix or in front of a computer screen). Only that I cannot wait to continue the story in the subsequent volumes. I’m not religious but Seven Seas are doing the lords work.

To quote my original review back in 2019:

WEI YING AND LAN ZHAN INVENTED LOVE AND THAT’S THAT

★★★★★

Find The Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation
Goodreads ~ Booktopia ~ Book Depository

4 thoughts on “Mini Review ~ ‘Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation vol. 1’

  1. Ohhh wordpress didn’t notify me of the tag WHY 😔 anyway i still can’t believe this is a physical book that exists and that is currently in my house…. dreams do come true!! 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment